Like a Horror Movie.

I only wish this was a Halloween post.

Contains disturbing images… of a certain tiny-fingered, cheeto-faced, ferret wearing shitgibbon.  And swears.

When I was 15, The Exorcist was hands down the scariest fucking thing I’d ever seen. Now, I’m no lightweight when it comes to horror and suspense movies, but I’d had no idea what what I was letting myself in for, and watched it alone, in an unfamiliar motel room, after midnight, after the rest of the family had gone to bed. What a dickhead.

I shat myself countless times during the movie and then, even when it was over, I stayed completely freaked. I did the SPRINT FROM THE BATHROOM TO BED thing, and the LIE AWAKE FOR AN HOUR FREAKING OUT ABOUT NOTHING thing, and the MAYBE I SHOULD BE MORE RELIGIOUS BECAUSE REGAN WASN’T RELIGIOUS AND SHE GOT EFFING POSSESSED thing. After I recovered I thought nothing would ever scare me so bad again but then I watched Paranormal Activity. And then Paranormal Activity 3.

naked-gun-facepalm

Lately though I haven’t needed to put on a movie to scare myself shitless – it happened every time I saw something about the American presidential election. Especially if I read an article online then was stupid enough to read some of the comments afterwards and see Trump’s ignorant, hateful rhetoric regurgitated by his one-eyed followers.

trump-joke-vote

The polls are open and everyone’s voting and I’m shitting myself and it’s not even happening in my country. Just days ago Senator Clinton and Donald Drumpf were neck and neck. It’s been like a mass shared Nightmare on Elm Street that started back in June that we still haven’t woken up from.

This election season has been about the most stressful in recent memory. And it’s hard, because we have two of the most corrupt candidates in recent memory, too — we have one candidate who was lacking on her email security, and we have another candidate who is made of weaponized gonorrhea and who would walk back every privilege that you possess as an American just to get one delicious blowjob from a Russian dictator. I DON’T KNOW HOW YOU WOULD CHOOSE BETWEEN THOSE TWO OBVIOUSLY EQUAL AND EVIL CANDIDATES.

– Chuck Wendig at terribleminds.com, whose Macro Monday postcheered me up immensely.

As did these…

mad-magazine-reverse-image-trump_5419ac37582cf6-39836445

trump-corn-cheeto

I say June because that’s when it became unpleasantly clear that Trump was popular enough that the Republican party were actually going to do the unthinkable and endorse him as their nominee. They enabled a xenophobic serial liar and narcissistic bigot to run for the highest office in the land. What the actual fuck were they thinking?

I do not wanna know where this man will lead the free world.
Before his endorsement I could just roll my eyes and say SURELY everyone will come to their senses. Surely. I said it A LOT. And I’m still saying it.

I could rant for hours about the monster he is but it’s all been said before. His supporters know what we all do, but they’re either making excuses for his behaviour or they just don’t care. Fearmongering and shouting bullshit at the top of his lungs has got him this far but I hope to God it stops here. He’s like the polymorph from Red Dwarf; a sticky orange space fiend that fabricates your worst nightmare then feeds off the fear it generates.

MEXICANS! MUSLIMS!
“MEXICANS! MUSLIMS! HILLARY IS CORRUPT! CONSPIRACIES EVERYWHERE!”
*slurp*
*slurp*

I have loathed seeing and hearing him every day for the past six months and just want this to be over. Come on, ‘Murica! Fire that asshole.

As one of the few Aussie politicians I really respect stated recently, in answer to ideas stemming from Australia’s One Nation Party’s ideas about the all muslims are terrorists kind of bullshit that Trump no doubt approves of;

Prejudice and fear will never build a community, they will only tear one apart. No country has ever made herself safer by attacking a particular ethnic minority.

Penny Wong

The simple truth.

– Michelle

trump-wall-meme
Oh God forbid!! And… it’s *separating*. Sorry.

 

Update November 9:

fucktrumpet.png
Trump: That’s PRESIDENT Fucktrumpet, thanks very much.

 

Shit a brick. He actually won.

This makes me feel like I’m watching the movie The Dead Zone except without the ‘happy’ ending. You know the one? Where the hero dies in a hail of bullets?

Crap.

Well, I’ve seen and felt a lot of shock in the past 24 hours but I’ve seen a lot of humour and some hope too.

watch-this

howd it get there.jpg

toblerone.png

orange new black.png

nobody-votes-on-that

Too right! We will go on looking out for each other and doing our bit to improve our world whoever is president.

xx

 

 

 

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Christopher says:

    I have done my duty and voted. I try to comfort myself by saying that I wasn’t voting against her opponent–although I don’t want to see him in office–but rather voting for her.
    And while it appears she’ll win the racism, sexism, antisemitism, and flat-out prejudice this election has brought out aren’t going away. Unfortunately the horror film ain’t over yet.
    And I had a similar experience to yours with The Exorcist when I watched a movie Angel Heart in an empty house in the middle of the night. I then watched both “Crocodile Dundee” movies back to back until the sun came up and I could finally relax.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Michelle says:

      Good on you. I wish *I* could’ve voted too! I’ve never been so invested in another country’s election outcome.
      I suppose that’s one, dare I say, positive? thing that Trump’s success has brought about, bringing all these hates and prejudices into the light. You can’t kill a monster that you don’t even know is there. The size of that particular monster is a bit daunting I must admit, but there’s a lot of people fighting it.
      Do you think there will be changes to your political system as a result of all this? I mean, it’s kind of fucked up that you can get father-son presidents, husband-wife presidents, and a president that I wouldn’t trust to run a sausage sizzle never mind a country with a nuclear arsenal.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Michelle says:

        I’ve never seen Angel Heart! Robert DeNiro in a supernatural horror movie? He was terrifying enough in Cape Fear! A double helping of Mick Dundee would definitely have helped me sleep better! Though I’m a bit more of a wuss these days, I prefer to watch them in the daytime!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Christopher says:

    Thank you for reminding me of Cape Fear–De Niro was really much scarier in that than he was in Angel Heart, even though he was of scary in it too.
    Actually De Niro is always scary to me. Even in comedies he scares me which is part of what makes him so funny.
    Here unfortunately I feel we’re living in a real horror film. This was so unexpected I need more than even Mick Dundee could provide.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Michelle says:

      He is a bit scary in everything isn’t he? I thought the first Fockers movie was hilarious.
      As to the real life horror movie, yeah it sucks. One day at a time. It’s hard to comprehend what Holocaust survivors must be thinking at this point, to see such a nasty man rise to absolute power on lies and bigotry twice in their lifetime.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

